For most households, the EcoFlow Delta 3 Max is the strongest overall emergency backup pick in this lineup, pairing a 2048Wh capacity with a 220W solar panel. The Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 stands out for higher-power needs with 2042Wh and 2200W AC output, while the Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus offers far more stored energy for longer outages. The main tradeoff is between a compact unit that is easier to move and a larger station that can run more devices for longer, with solar-panel output and recharge time shaping how useful each is during a prolonged outage. I also weigh power limits, battery capacity, and how each bundle fits a realistic home backup plan. Read on for the full comparison and recommendations by household need.
Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The 2048Wh EcoFlow Delta 3 Max leads the middle-capacity group because its bundled 220W panel and substantial storage suit a broad range of outage plans.
- The Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 combines 2042Wh capacity with 2200W AC output, making it a better match than small stations for higher-wattage appliances—provided the appliance stays within its output limits.
- The two Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus listings are different configurations: one includes two 200W panels, while the other specifies 3584Wh and 3600W output without panels in its product name.
- Compact choices such as the 259Wh EM300 and 300W Jackery Explorer 300 suit phones, lights, and small electronics, but they are not substitutes for a large home-backup station.
- Panel wattage varies sharply across the bundles. The listed 40W, 60W, 120W, and 200W panels affect solar replenishment potential, so capacity alone cannot predict outage readiness.
| EM300 300W Portable Power Station with 259Wh LiFePO4 Battery | ![]() | Best Compact Backup for Essentials | Battery capacity: 259Wh / 70,000mAh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | AC output: 300W rated, 600W peak | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery Solar Generator 1000 Plus v2 with 200W Solar Panel | ![]() | Best Expandable Backup | Capacity: 1,024Wh; expandable to 11kWh | AC output: 1,800W rated, 3,600W surge | Battery type: LiFePO4 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station with 40W Solar Panel | ![]() | Best Small Kit with Panel Included | Capacity: 292Wh | AC output: 300W rated, 600W peak | Battery chemistry: LiFePO4 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| EcoFlow Delta 3 Max Portable Power Station with 220W Solar Panel, 2048Wh | ![]() | Best for High-Power Household Loads | Battery capacity: 2,048Wh | Continuous output: 2,400W | X-Boost output: 3,400W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| UDPOWER S1200 Portable Power Station with 120W Solar Panel | ![]() | Best Mid-Range Backup Bundle | Battery capacity: 1,190Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | Output: 1,200W; 1,800W peak | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ZeroKor 300W Portable Power Station with 60W Solar Panel | ![]() | Best for Basic Emergency Charging | Power station output: 300W | Included solar panel: 60W monocrystalline | Solar panel conversion efficiency: 20.5% | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 with 2 × 200W Solar Panels – 2042Wh, 2200W AC Output | ![]() | Best for Quiet, Mid-Range Home Backup | Battery capacity: 2,042Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | Continuous AC output: 2,200W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station with Two 200W Solar Panels | ![]() | Best for High-Capacity Whole-Home Essentials | Battery capacity: 3,584Wh | Output wattage: 3,600W | Parallel output: 7,200W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery HomePower 1000 v2 Portable Power Station with 200W Solar Panel | ![]() | Best for Essential Circuits and UPS Backup | Battery capacity: 1,024Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | AC output: 1,500W pure sine wave | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| BLAVOR 1600W Solar Generator with Built-In 40W Solar Panel | ![]() | Best for Solar Convenience Without a Separate Panel | Battery capacity: 1,024Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | Peak output: 3,200W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 with 200W Solar Panel | ![]() | Best Portable Backup Kit | Battery capacity: 1,070Wh | Battery type: LFP | AC output: 1,500W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery HomePower 3000 Portable Power Station with Two 200W Solar Panels | ![]() | Best for Essential Home Loads | Battery capacity: 3,072Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | AC output: 3,600W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic Portable Power Station with 220W Solar Panel, 1024Wh | ![]() | Best for Fast-Switch Backup | Capacity: 1,024Wh | Battery chemistry: LiFePO4 | AC output: 1,800W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station, 3584Wh, 3600W | ![]() | Best Expandable Backup | Capacity: 3,584Wh | Output wattage: 3,600W | Parallel output: 7,200W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| solar generators for emergency home backup | Weight | Battery capacity | Battery type | AC output |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| EM300 300W Portable Power Stat | 7.2 pounds | 259Wh / 70,000mAh | LiFePO4 | 300W rated, 600W peak |
| Jackery Solar Generator 1000 P | — | — | LiFePO4 | 1,800W rated, 3,600W surge |
| Jackery Explorer 300 Portable | 12.9 pounds | — | — | 300W rated, 600W peak |
| EcoFlow Delta 3 Max Portable P | — | 2,048Wh | LiFePO4 | — |
| UDPOWER S1200 Portable Power S | 25.8 pounds | 1,190Wh | LiFePO4 | — |
| ZeroKor 300W Portable Power St | — | — | — | — |
| Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 with | 66.8 lbs | 2,042Wh | LiFePO4 | — |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Po | 77.2 lbs | 3,584Wh | — | — |
| Jackery HomePower 1000 v2 Port | 25 lbs | 1,024Wh | LiFePO4 | 1,500W pure sine wave |
| BLAVOR 1600W Solar Generator w | 26 lbs | 1,024Wh | LiFePO4 | — |
| Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v | 23.8 lbs | 1,070Wh | LFP | 1,500W |
| Jackery HomePower 3000 Portabl | 59.5 lbs | 3,072Wh | LiFePO4 | 3,600W |
| EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic Por | — | — | — | 1,800W |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Po | 77.2 lbs | — | — | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
EM300 300W Portable Power Station with 259Wh LiFePO4 Battery
The EM300 makes sense as a small emergency reserve for phones, lights, routers, and other modest loads—not as a substitute for a home backup system. Its 259Wh battery and 300W AC output keep the unit light at about 7.2 pounds, while LiFePO4 cells rated for 2,000+ cycles suit repeated use over time. Compared with the Jackery Explorer 300, it has slightly less stated capacity but is substantially lighter according to the supplied specifications. It also accepts wall, car, or solar charging, though you must supply a solar panel separately. The main limitation is output: appliances with heating elements or high startup demands may exceed its 300W rating. I’d choose it for a grab-and-go kit, but step up to the UDPOWER S1200 when longer runtimes and larger loads matter.
Pros:- Light 7.2-pound build is easier to move or store than the larger backup units in this roundup.
- LiFePO4 battery is rated for 2,000+ charge cycles.
- Wall, car, and solar charging options support different recharge situations.
- AC, USB, and DC outputs can serve several small-device needs.
Cons:- A solar panel is sold separately, adding a separate purchase for solar recharging.
- 300W AC output rules out many household appliances.
- 259Wh capacity offers limited runtime for backup loads.
Best for: People assembling a lightweight outage kit for phones, LED lights, and a small router who can recharge the station between uses.
Not ideal for: Households wanting to run a refrigerator, microwave, or several appliances for extended outages; its 259Wh capacity and 300W output are restrictive.
- Battery capacity:259Wh / 70,000mAh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- AC output:300W rated, 600W peak
- USB-C output:Up to 65W and 36W
- Charging methods:Wall, car, and solar
- Charge cycles:2,000+
- Weight:7.2 pounds
- Dimensions:7.72 × 6.93 × 6.46 inches
Our verdict“Choose the EM300 for a light, basic emergency kit, but pick a higher-capacity station for appliance backup.”
Jackery Solar Generator 1000 Plus v2 with 200W Solar Panel
The Jackery 1000 Plus v2 stands out for buyers who want a mid-size starting point with a path to much longer backup. It begins at 1,024Wh and can expand to 11kWh with separately purchased battery packs, making it more adaptable than the fixed-capacity UDPOWER S1200. Its 1,800W rated AC output can handle more household essentials than the compact EM300, while the 10ms UPS switchover is useful for keeping compatible critical electronics powered through an interruption. The included 200W panel gives it a solar option out of the box, and app connectivity adds remote monitoring. That flexibility has limits: expansion raises the system’s size and complexity, and 1,800W may not cover very high-demand appliances. I’d shortlist it for staged backup plans, not for buyers seeking a complete, high-output whole-home solution.
Pros:- Expandable capacity reaches up to 11kWh with additional battery packs.
- 10ms UPS switchover supports continuity for compatible critical devices.
- Includes a 200W solar panel and Wi-Fi and Bluetooth monitoring.
- LiFePO4 battery is rated for 6,000 cycles to at least 70% capacity.
Cons:- Expansion battery packs are sold separately.
- 1,800W rated output may not run very high-wattage appliances.
- Adding packs increases the system’s footprint and setup complexity.
Best for: Homeowners who want to start with roughly 1kWh of backup and add capacity later for longer outages.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need high-wattage appliance support immediately or want a larger backup capacity without purchasing additional battery packs.
- Capacity:1,024Wh; expandable to 11kWh
- AC output:1,800W rated, 3,600W surge
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- Charge cycles:6,000 to at least 70% capacity
- UPS switchover:10ms
- Included solar panel:200W
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
- Warranty:5 years
Our verdict“Pick this Jackery if you value a solar-equipped starting system that can grow as your backup needs increase.”
Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station with 40W Solar Panel
The Explorer 300 is a straightforward pick for buyers who want a small station and a solar panel in one kit. Its 292Wh capacity is modest for home backup, but the included 40W panel means there is no need to source a compatible panel separately. That bundled setup distinguishes it from the EM300, which is lighter but does not include a panel. The Explorer also offers a 100W USB-C port, useful for charging compatible devices, and its LiFePO4 battery is rated for more than 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity. The tradeoff is that the panel is small for replenishing the station during an outage: the supplied estimate is about 7.5 hours to reach 80%. At 12.9 pounds per the listed specifications, it is also less convenient to carry than the EM300. I’d use it for electronics and lighting, not appliance-heavy backup.
Pros:- Includes a 40W solar panel, AC adapter, and car charging cable.
- LiFePO4 battery is rated for over 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity.
- 100W USB-C PD port can serve compatible higher-power devices.
- Multiple AC, USB, and car outputs support a range of small electronics.
Cons:- The 40W panel takes about 7.5 hours to charge the station to 80% under the listed estimate.
- 292Wh capacity is limited for extended household backup.
- Listed weight is 12.9 pounds, heavier than the EM300 despite similar output class.
Best for: First-time solar-kit buyers who want to keep phones, laptops, and lights charged and prefer a panel included in the box.
Not ideal for: Households needing long runtimes, rapid solar recovery, or power for larger appliances; capacity, output, and panel size are limited.
- Capacity:292Wh
- AC output:300W rated, 600W peak
- Battery chemistry:LiFePO4
- Charge cycles:Over 4,000 to 70% capacity
- Ports:2 AC, 1 USB-C PD, 2 USB-A, 1 car port
- Included solar panel:40W; approximately 7.5 hours to 80% charge
- Weight:12.9 pounds
- Warranty:3+2 years
Our verdict“Choose the Explorer 300 for an all-in-one starter kit for small electronics, not for sustained appliance backup.”
EcoFlow Delta 3 Max Portable Power Station with 220W Solar Panel, 2048Wh
Among these five, the Delta 3 Max is the strongest fit for buyers who need to run more demanding household equipment. Its 2,048Wh battery and 2,400W continuous output give it a clearer appliance-backup role than the EM300 or Explorer 300, while X-Boost is listed at 3,400W for supported loads. Fast charging—0–80% in 1.13 hours as specified—can help refill the station from an available outlet between outages. The sub-10ms transfer time also suits sensitive electronics that need backup power without a long interruption. Compared with the Jackery 1000 Plus v2, this model starts with twice the stated capacity, but it lacks that product’s stated expansion path to 11kWh. Its larger body and included 220W panel’s limited recharging pace are real compromises. I’d favor it for strong output in a single portable unit, not for a compact kit.
Pros:- 2,048Wh capacity and 2,400W continuous output suit heavier backup loads than the compact models.
- Listed 0–80% charging time is 1.13 hours using X-Stream technology.
- Sub-10ms transfer time supports backup for sensitive electronics.
- Includes a 220W solar panel and app monitoring.
Cons:- Larger dimensions make it less convenient to move than the EM300 or Explorer 300.
- The included 220W panel may recharge the large battery slowly during limited-sun periods.
- No battery expansion capacity is stated in the supplied product data.
Best for: Households that need substantial portable power for several essentials or higher-demand appliances and can accommodate a larger station.
Not ideal for: People who need a lightweight unit or expect the included 220W panel to quickly refill 2,048Wh during an outage.
- Battery capacity:2,048Wh
- Continuous output:2,400W
- X-Boost output:3,400W
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- Included solar panel:220W
- AC charging time:0–80% in 1.13 hours
- Dimensions:19.5 × 9.4 × 12 inches
- Warranty:5-year service
Our verdict“Choose the Delta 3 Max when higher output and a larger built-in reserve matter more than portability or expandable capacity.”
UDPOWER S1200 Portable Power Station with 120W Solar Panel
The S1200 is a practical middle ground for emergency use: its 1,190Wh capacity is far more useful for longer device and lighting runtimes than the EM300 or Explorer 300, without moving up to the Delta 3 Max’s 2,048Wh class. A 1,200W output, five AC outlets, and two 100W USB-C ports make it easy to serve several household essentials at once, though it is not suited to every high-wattage appliance. The included 120W foldable, IP65-rated panel adds a weather-resistant solar option, and UPS switching under 0.01 seconds is useful for supported backup devices. Compared with the Jackery 1000 Plus v2, the UDPOWER includes a panel but has no stated expansion path. Its 25.8-pound weight and separately shipped station and panel also make setup less convenient than a single-package kit.
Pros:- 1,190Wh capacity provides substantially more reserve than the compact 259Wh and 292Wh options.
- Includes a foldable 120W IP65-rated solar panel.
- UPS switching is specified at under 0.01 seconds.
- Five AC outlets and two 100W USB-C ports support several devices at once.
Cons:- At 25.8 pounds, it is less portable than the compact stations in this roundup.
- Power station and solar panel ship separately.
- The solar panel has a separate one-year warranty, shorter than the station’s five-year warranty.
Best for: Households seeking about 1kWh of backup, multiple device connections, and an included panel for occasional solar recharging.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a lightweight carry-around station, fast solar replenishment, or a system they can expand with extra battery packs.
- Battery capacity:1,190Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- Output:1,200W; 1,800W peak
- Included solar panel:120W, foldable, IP65-rated
- UPS switching time:Under 0.01 seconds
- Battery cycle life:Over 4,000 cycles
- Ports:5 AC, 2 USB-C at 100W each, 4 USB-A, 2 DC5521
- Weight:25.8 pounds
- Warranty:5 years for power station; 1 year for solar panel
Our verdict“Choose the S1200 for a moderate-capacity backup bundle with broad port selection, provided its weight and separate shipments suit your setup.”
ZeroKor 300W Portable Power Station with 60W Solar Panel
The ZeroKor 300W is a small-scale backup choice for keeping phones, lights, and other low-draw essentials powered—not for running household appliances. Its included 60W monocrystalline panel means solar charging is available out of the box, unlike the Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 package, which requires separately sourced panels. That convenience has limits: 60W is modest, and the product data does not state battery capacity, making outage-runtime planning difficult. The 300W AC ceiling also rules out many higher-demand devices, so I would not treat it as a substitute for larger stations such as the Jackery HomePower 1000 v2. Multiple USB and DC outputs, three recharge routes, and an SOS flashlight suit a grab-and-go emergency kit. The junction box is not waterproof, so the panel needs protection from wet weather.
Pros:- Includes a 60W monocrystalline solar panel for entry-level solar charging
- Can recharge from an AC outlet, a 12V car port, or a compatible solar panel
- Three USB ports, a quick-charge port, AC outlets, and a DC port support varied small devices
- Built-in flashlight includes reading and SOS modes
Cons:- 300W maximum AC output excludes many common home appliances
- Battery capacity is not specified, so outage runtime is difficult to estimate
- Solar panel junction box is not waterproof
Best for: People assembling a low-draw emergency kit for phones, LED lights, and small USB devices who want a solar panel included.
Not ideal for: Households that need to power a refrigerator, kitchen appliance, or other load above 300W, or buyers who need a clearly stated battery capacity to estimate runtime.
- Power station output:300W
- Included solar panel:60W monocrystalline
- Solar panel conversion efficiency:20.5%
- AC outlets:2; up to 300W maximum
- USB ports:3 × 5V/3A; 1 quick-charge port up to 9V/2A
- DC port:9V–12.6V, up to 10A
- Recharge methods:AC outlet, 12V car port, or compatible solar panel
- Safety protections:Short-circuit, over-current, over-voltage, overload, and overheating protection
Our verdict“Choose the ZeroKor for basic device charging with a panel in the box, but skip it if your backup plan depends on appliances or predictable runtime.”
Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 with 2 × 200W Solar Panels – 2042Wh, 2200W AC Output
The Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 balances substantial stored energy with a more manageable footprint than the 3,584Wh Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus. Its 2,042Wh LiFePO4 battery and 2,200W continuous AC output can support a wider set of outage essentials than the smaller HomePower 1000 v2, while three AC outlets make it practical for several connected devices. For sensitive electronics, the 20ms UPS switch can keep power flowing through a brief outage-related handoff. Fast AC charging is another advantage when grid power returns, and the included pair of 200W panels avoids the separate-panel issue associated with the Explorer 2000 v2 sold without panels. The tradeoff is weight: at 66.8 pounds, it is more of a movable home station than an easy carry. Its solar recharge time is listed as six hours with 400W of panels.
Pros:- 2,042Wh capacity and 2,200W continuous AC output cover more demanding needs than compact stations
- Includes two 200W solar panels for a ready-to-use solar charging setup
- AC charging reaches 80% in 66 minutes, according to the supplied specifications
- LiFePO4 battery, low fan noise, and 20ms UPS switching suit home and electronics backup
Cons:- At 66.8 pounds, it is cumbersome to move frequently or carry up stairs
- Solar charging is listed at six hours with 400W of panels, limiting recovery speed in weaker sunlight
- Its capacity and output remain below the larger Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus
Best for: Households seeking a quiet, mid-capacity backup station for electronics and moderate loads, with included panels and UPS support.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a light station to carry often, or households seeking the higher capacity and output of a large expandable system.
- Battery capacity:2,042Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- Continuous AC output:2,200W
- AC outlets:3
- Included solar panels:2 × 200W
- AC charging time:66 minutes to 80%
- Solar charging time:6 hours with 400W panels
- UPS switching time:20ms
- Weight:66.8 lbs
Our verdict“Pick the Explorer 2000 v2 for quiet, capable backup with panels included, provided you can accommodate its substantial weight.”
Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station with Two 200W Solar Panels
When the backup plan includes several household essentials rather than just a few devices, the Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus offers a clear step up from the 2,042Wh Explorer 2000 v2: it provides 3,584Wh capacity and 3,600W output, with expansion options for longer outages. Pairing units can provide 240V output, a capability the smaller Jackery HomePower 1000 v2 does not match. Wheels and a telescopic handle help move this 77.2-pound station across a floor, though they do not make lifting it into a vehicle easy. The included two 200W panels give solar charging a useful starting point, and AC, hybrid, and gas-generator charging add flexibility when sunlight is poor. Its size and power may be excessive for buyers who only need device charging; I would choose a smaller model for that job.
Pros:- 3,584Wh capacity and 3,600W output provide substantially more headroom than the Explorer 2000 v2
- Expandable capacity and paired-unit 240V capability support more ambitious backup setups
- Wheels and telescopic handle ease floor-level movement
- Supports solar, AC, hybrid, and gas-generator charging
Cons:- At 77.2 pounds, it is heavy to lift despite its wheeled design
- The station and included solar panels may arrive in separate packages
- Its size and capacity are unnecessary for buyers backing up only small electronics
Best for: Households preparing to run multiple essential appliances or loads during longer outages and wanting expansion and 240V options.
Not ideal for: Apartment dwellers or buyers focused on phone, laptop, and lighting backup who need a compact, easy-to-lift station.
- Battery capacity:3,584Wh
- Output wattage:3,600W
- Parallel output:7,200W
- Expandable capacity:Up to 21kWh per unit or 43kWh with multiple units
- Voltage:120V; 240V in parallel
- Included solar panels:Two 200W panels
- Charging times:Hybrid AC+DC: 2 hours; AC: 2.5 hours; solar: 4 hours; gas generator: 2.5 hours
- Weight:77.2 lbs
- Dimensions:19.3 × 15.2 × 12.2 in
Our verdict“Choose the HomePower 3600 Plus for higher-demand, expandable home backup; choose a smaller station if portability or simple device charging matters more.”
Jackery HomePower 1000 v2 Portable Power Station with 200W Solar Panel
The Jackery HomePower 1000 v2 is a more focused home-backup pick than the larger Explorer 2000 v2: its 1,024Wh battery and 1,500W pure-sine-wave output suit essential devices without the weight and capacity of a mid-size station. Its strongest differentiator is the 10ms UPS transfer time, which is quicker than the Explorer 2000 v2’s listed 20ms switch and may better suit connected electronics that need uninterrupted power. The included 200W panel and 400W maximum solar input give buyers room to add solar capacity, while two 100W USB-C ports help power modern laptops and devices. At 25 pounds, it is easier to reposition than either larger Jackery, though still not effortless for everyone. The listed 50-minute recharge depends on emergency charging mode, so I would not treat it as the standard recharge expectation.
Pros:- 10ms UPS transfer time supports fast switching for connected devices
- Includes a 200W solar panel and accepts up to 400W solar input
- Two 100W USB-C ports and three AC outlets support a range of electronics
- LiFePO4 battery is rated for over 6,000 cycles
Cons:- 1,024Wh capacity is more limited for long outages than the Explorer 2000 v2
- At 25 pounds, it may still be heavy for frequent carrying
- The 50-minute recharge figure requires emergency charging mode
Best for: People who want a portable, mid-capacity station for essential electronics and devices that benefit from UPS-style backup.
Not ideal for: Households needing extended appliance runtime or higher output than 1,500W, who should look at the Explorer 2000 v2 or HomePower 3600 Plus.
- Battery capacity:1,024Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- AC output:1,500W pure sine wave
- UPS transfer time:10ms
- Included solar panel:200W
- Maximum solar input:400W
- USB-C ports:2 × 100W PD
- AC outlets:3
- Weight:25 lbs
Our verdict“Choose the HomePower 1000 v2 for portable essential-device backup and fast UPS switching, not for extended high-load household coverage.”
BLAVOR 1600W Solar Generator with Built-In 40W Solar Panel
The BLAVOR 1600W takes a different approach from the Jackery HomePower 1000 v2: instead of bundling a full-size panel, it has a built-in 40W solar panel for supplemental charging and accepts up to 200W from a compatible external panel. Its 1,024Wh LiFePO4 battery and 1,600W rated output give it slightly more AC headroom than the HomePower 1000 v2, while the listed 3,200W peak output may accommodate compatible startup surges. That does not make it a replacement for the 3,600W HomePower 3600 Plus, whose much larger capacity better fits extended outages and heavier loads. The built-in panel avoids packing a separate panel for occasional charging, but its modest rating is not a fast solar-recovery solution. At 26 pounds, it is portable in short moves rather than light enough for effortless carrying.
Pros:- Built-in 40W solar panel allows supplemental charging without setting up a separate panel
- 1,024Wh LiFePO4 battery and 1,600W rated output suit a range of essential devices
- Eight output ports include 100W bidirectional USB-C
- Supports wall, car, built-in solar, and compatible external solar recharging
Cons:- The 40W built-in panel is modest for replenishing a 1,024Wh battery
- External solar input is limited to 200W and the external panel is not included
- At 26 pounds, it is not a lightweight carry option
Best for: Buyers who value a built-in panel for supplemental solar charging and need a roughly 1kWh station for essential devices and moderate loads.
Not ideal for: Households needing rapid solar replenishment, long runtimes, or a larger external solar setup than the stated 200W maximum input.
- Battery capacity:1,024Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- Peak output:3,200W
- Built-in solar panel:40W
- Maximum external solar input:200W
- USB-C output:100W bidirectional
- Output ports:8
- Weight:26 lbs
Our verdict“Pick the BLAVOR for built-in supplemental solar and useful AC output, but choose a bundled-panel or larger system for stronger outage-time solar charging.”
Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 with 200W Solar Panel
At 23.8 pounds, this is the easiest of these four to move and store, while its 1,070Wh battery and 1,500W AC output offer more useful home-outage capacity than a small device-charging station. The included 200W solar panel gives buyers a way to replenish it without sourcing a panel separately, though the power station and panel ship in separate packages. Compared with the larger Jackery HomePower 3000, this unit is much easier to carry but has less than half the capacity and is not as well suited to running several household essentials for extended periods. Its LFP battery rated for 4,000 cycles supports repeated use over time. One-hour AC charging requires enabling emergency charging in the app; the default charge time is 1.7 hours, so the fastest option takes a setup step.
Pros:- More portable than the larger backup units in this group at 23.8 pounds.
- Includes a 200W solar panel for off-grid recharging.
- 1,500W AC output and 3,000W surge peak cover a range of smaller appliances.
- LFP battery rated for 4,000 charge cycles, with app-based charging controls.
Cons:- 1,070Wh capacity limits runtime for household loads compared with the HomePower 3000 and HomePower 3600 Plus.
- One-hour charging requires enabling emergency charging in the app.
- The power station and solar panel ship separately.
Best for: People in apartments or smaller homes who want a movable backup for phones, networking equipment, lights, and selected appliances.
Not ideal for: Households planning to run multiple high-demand appliances or sustain essential circuits for long outages; its 1,070Wh capacity is modest beside the HomePower 3000.
- Battery capacity:1,070Wh
- Battery type:LFP
- AC output:1,500W
- Surge peak:3,000W
- Solar panel:200W
- Weight:23.8 lbs
- Ports:3 AC outlets, 2 USB-C, 1 USB-A, 1 DC car port
- Charging time:1 hour with emergency charging enabled; defaults to 1.7 hours
Our verdict“Choose this kit if portability and a included solar panel matter more than the longer runtimes offered by the larger Jackery units.”
Jackery HomePower 3000 Portable Power Station with Two 200W Solar Panels
With 3,072Wh of capacity and 3,600W of AC output, this is the more convincing choice here for keeping several household essentials running through an outage. Its UPS transfer time of 20ms or less can help compatible connected equipment stay powered when utility service drops, while the TT-30 port adds a useful connection for RV use. Compared with the more portable Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2, the HomePower 3000 offers substantially more stored energy and output, but at 59.5 pounds it is much less convenient to move. The two 200W panels support solar charging, though reaching 80% takes about nine hours in the stated conditions. Buyers should also account for separate shipments, and this model does not offer the expandable capacity or 240V parallel output listed for the HomePower 3600 Plus.
Pros:- 3,072Wh capacity and 3,600W output suit a broader set of household backup loads than the 1000 v2.
- UPS transfer time of 20ms or less supports backup for compatible connected devices.
- Includes two 200W solar panels and supports AC, hybrid, and car charging.
- LiFePO4 battery rated for 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity.
Cons:- At 59.5 pounds, it is difficult to move frequently without help.
- Solar charging to 80% takes about nine hours.
- The station and included panels ship separately.
Best for: Households that want a substantial portable reserve for a refrigerator, communications gear, lights, and other compatible essentials, plus RV owners who can use a TT-30 port.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a lightweight unit to carry between rooms or want a system expandable to multi-unit capacity and 240V output.
- Battery capacity:3,072Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- AC output:3,600W
- Surge output:7,200W
- UPS transfer time:≤20ms
- Solar panels:2 × 200W
- Weight:59.5 lbs
- Solar recharge time:About 9 hours to 80%
- RV port:TT-30
Our verdict“Pick the HomePower 3000 if you want a high-capacity, UPS-equipped portable backup and can accept its weight and long stated solar recharge time.”
EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic Portable Power Station with 220W Solar Panel, 1024Wh
The DELTA 3 Classic’s under-10ms UPS switching makes it the standout here for compatible electronics that should keep running through a brief outage, such as networking equipment. It pairs that fast handoff with 1,800W of AC output and a 3,600W surge rating, giving it more output headroom than the Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 despite a similar 1,024Wh capacity. Its stated AC charging time—0–80% in 45 minutes—can also help restore a partial reserve during a short window of available power. The tradeoff is runtime: the HomePower 3000 stores about three times as much energy, making it a better fit for longer outages or multiple household loads. The included 220W bifacial panel supports solar charging, but the station and panel may arrive separately.
Pros:- Under-10ms UPS switching can help compatible equipment ride through a power interruption.
- 1,800W AC output and 3,600W surge exceed the output ratings of the Jackery 1000 v2.
- Stated AC charging reaches 80% in 45 minutes.
- Includes a 220W bifacial solar panel and uses LiFePO4 battery chemistry.
Cons:- 1,024Wh capacity limits outage runtime compared with the two larger HomePower models.
- The power station and solar panel may arrive separately.
Best for: People who want rapid UPS switching for compatible network or computer equipment and fast AC recharge in a compact-capacity backup station.
Not ideal for: Households seeking long runtimes for several appliances; its 1,024Wh capacity is far below the HomePower 3000 and HomePower 3600 Plus.
- Capacity:1,024Wh
- Battery chemistry:LiFePO4
- AC output:1,800W
- Surge output:3,600W
- X-Boost output:Up to 2,600W
- UPS switching time:Under 10ms
- AC charging time:0–80% in 45 minutes
- Solar panel:220W bifacial
Our verdict“Choose the DELTA 3 Classic for fast UPS response and quick AC replenishment, not for the extended runtimes of a larger-capacity backup.”
Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station, 3584Wh, 3600W
The HomePower 3600 Plus is the most expandable option in this group: its 3,584Wh capacity can grow to 21kWh per unit, and parallel units can provide up to 43kWh. That makes it a better fit than the HomePower 3000 for buyers planning a larger backup setup, especially because parallel operation can deliver 240V output. Its 3,600W output and support for AC, solar, gas-generator, and hybrid charging offer flexibility when weather or grid access limits one charging route. A wheeled design and telescopic handle help move the 77.2-pound unit, but they do not make it light to lift. There is also a practical constraint: only two outlets are listed, so buyers should check their connection needs before choosing it for several appliances. The product data does not list included solar panels.
Pros:- 3,584Wh capacity with expansion listed up to 21kWh per unit or 43kWh with multiple units.
- Parallel setup can provide 7,200W output and 240V.
- Supports AC, solar, gas-generator, and hybrid charging.
- Wheels and telescopic handle make moving the heavy unit easier across level surfaces.
Cons:- At 77.2 pounds, it is still heavy to lift, despite the wheeled design.
- Only two outlets are listed, which may limit direct connections for several loads.
- No solar panel is listed as included.
Best for: Homeowners planning a scalable backup system who may need long runtimes, multiple charging sources, or 240V output with parallel units.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a lightweight carry-in station, many built-in outlets, or a solar panel included in the listed package.
- Capacity:3,584Wh
- Output wattage:3,600W
- Parallel output:7,200W
- Voltage:120V; 240V in parallel
- Expandable capacity:Up to 21kWh per unit or 43kWh with multiple units
- Battery cycle life:6,000 cycles
- Charging time:2 hours hybrid AC+DC; 2.5 hours AC; 4 hours solar; 2.5 hours gas generator
- Weight:77.2 lbs
- Number of outlets:2
Our verdict“Choose this model if you want a large, expandable backup platform and can work around its weight and limited listed outlet count.”

How We Picked
I ranked these solar generators for emergency home backup by how well their stated capacity, AC output, and included solar charging fit common outage needs. Higher capacity can keep more devices running for longer, while output limits determine whether a station can handle a particular appliance at all. I also weighed panel wattage, bundle clarity, and portability, since a large battery with a modest panel may be harder to replenish during a multi-day outage.
The order favors versatile systems with a clearer fit for household backup, then units aimed at narrower needs such as basic electronics or portable use. The Delta 3 Max ranks first for its balance of 2048Wh capacity and a 220W panel; larger Jackery systems move up for longer runtimes or heavier loads, but their size and configuration make them less universal. Smaller stations rank lower for whole-home ambitions, though they can be sensible for essential low-draw devices. Product names and supplied specifications do not establish runtime for a specific appliance, so buyers should check actual device wattage and manufacturer limits before choosing.
| solar generators for emergency home backup | Battery type |
|---|---|
| EM300 300W Portable Power Stat | LiFePO4 |
| Jackery Solar Generator 1000 P | LiFePO4 |
| Jackery Explorer 300 Portable | — |
| EcoFlow Delta 3 Max Portable P | LiFePO4 |
| UDPOWER S1200 Portable Power S | LiFePO4 |
| ZeroKor 300W Portable Power St | — |
| Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 with | LiFePO4 |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Po | — |
| Jackery HomePower 1000 v2 Port | LiFePO4 |
| BLAVOR 1600W Solar Generator w | LiFePO4 |
| Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v | LFP |
| Jackery HomePower 3000 Portabl | LiFePO4 |
| EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Classic Por | — |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Po | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Solar Generators For Emergency Home Backup
Choosing a backup station starts with the outage plan, not the largest capacity number. I would list the devices that must stay on, estimate their power draw and daily use, then match both the station and its solar setup to that plan.
Start With Essential Loads, Not Whole-Home Assumptions
Write down what must run during an outage: perhaps a router, phones, lights, a medical device, or a refrigerator. Check each device’s wattage and, for appliances with motors, its startup demand; a unit that can run a load continuously may still fail to start it. Add up the loads you expect to use at the same time, rather than every appliance in the house. A portable power station generally supports selected devices through its outlets, not automatic whole-home service. If you want to power household circuits, confirm whether the equipment supports that setup and whether a qualified electrician is needed. This prevents paying for capacity that does not solve the actual problem.
Separate Runtime Capacity From Output Capability
Battery capacity and AC output answer different questions: capacity is about how long energy may last, while output is about which devices can run at once. A large-capacity station can still be unsuitable for a high-draw appliance if its output rating is too low. Runtime also changes with appliance cycling, conversion losses, and how many devices share the station. Treat published capacity as a planning starting point, not a guaranteed number of hours. For critical equipment, leave a reserve rather than planning to drain the battery completely. This distinction is especially useful when comparing the 300W-class portable units with larger systems.
Match Solar Input to the Length of the Outage
A panel’s stated wattage is not the same as energy collected over a day. Sun angle, clouds, shade, season, and panel placement all affect the charge a household can recover. A small bundled panel can be convenient for topping up a compact station, but may replenish a large battery slowly during repeated use. Check the power station’s solar input limits and connector compatibility before adding panels; more panel capacity helps only if the station can accept it. For multi-day outages, consider where panels can sit in direct sun without blocking access or creating a security concern. Keep grid or vehicle charging as a backup plan when solar conditions are poor.
Choose Portability for the Person Who Will Move It
Emergency gear needs to be reachable and usable by the people at home, including anyone who may need to carry it between rooms. Larger-capacity models can reduce the need to ration energy, but their added size and weight can make placement and transport harder. Decide in advance whether the station will stay beside a refrigerator, move to a bedroom, or travel outside for solar charging. A compact unit can be easier to store and deploy, though its limited energy makes it better for small electronics than broad backup. Check handles, storage space, and cable reach as part of the plan. A station that is awkward to position may be less useful when an outage begins.
Read Bundle Details Before Comparing Solar Kits
Product names can describe different configurations of a similar power station, so compare the exact included components rather than relying on the model family alone. Confirm the number and wattage of panels, charging cables, outlets, and any transfer or home-integration equipment. A listing that names a station and panels may differ from a station-only version even when the core capacity is similar. Also check whether the manufacturer supports expansion batteries or additional solar input if your backup plan may grow. Do not assume a panel included in a bundle is enough to recharge the unit quickly. Clear configuration details make side-by-side comparisons more reliable.
Plan for Storage, Maintenance, and Critical-Device Reliability
A backup station is only ready if it has charge when an outage arrives. Follow the manufacturer’s guidance for storage charge, periodic checks, temperature limits, and battery care instead of leaving it untouched indefinitely. Keep the manual, charging cables, and appliance list together, and test the intended setup while power is available. For medical equipment or other critical loads, ask the device maker about power requirements and use a backup method that does not depend on a single battery. Pay more for capacity or expansion only when it supports a specific runtime need, not simply because a larger number sounds safer. Reliability comes from a workable plan as much as from the hardware.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a portable solar generator power my whole house during an outage?
These stations are generally suited to selected appliances and electronics, not every circuit in a home at once. The amount you can run depends on both the station’s AC output and its stored energy, as well as the loads’ startup demands. Connecting a station to household wiring may require compatible equipment and a qualified electrician; never backfeed a home through a standard outlet. Make a list of essential devices and confirm the system supports the intended connection method. If whole-home coverage is the goal, compare dedicated home backup systems and installation requirements as well.
How do I estimate how long a station will run my refrigerator?
Check the refrigerator’s label or manual for its power draw, and remember that compressors cycle rather than running at full draw continuously. Startup demand can exceed normal operating demand, so the station’s output rating must handle the surge as well as the running load. Battery capacity gives a rough energy ceiling, but inverter losses and other connected devices reduce usable runtime. A plug-in energy meter can help measure the refrigerator’s actual consumption over a day. Use that measurement to compare with the station’s usable capacity, leaving a reserve for uncertain conditions.
Is the solar panel included with a power station enough for a multi-day outage?
Not automatically: the included panel’s wattage, daily sunlight, and the station’s solar input limit all shape how much energy can be restored. A 40W or 60W panel is a very different replenishment tool from a 200W or 220W panel, especially when paired with a large battery. Clouds, shade, winter sun, and panel angle can cut production well below the nameplate figure. Compare expected daily energy use with realistic solar harvest rather than assuming the battery will recharge fully each day. A grid or vehicle charging option can reduce reliance on ideal sun.
Should I choose a larger station or a smaller station with more solar panels?
Choose more stored capacity when you need to cover long periods without useful sunlight or support larger loads for longer. More panel capacity can help restore energy during daytime, but it cannot compensate for a station whose output is too low for the devices you need. Before buying extra panels, check the station’s maximum solar input and whether the connectors are compatible. For short outages and low-draw electronics, a smaller station may be easier to move and store. The right balance depends on whether your main constraint is runtime, appliance power, or daily recharging.
What should I check before using a station with medical equipment?
Confirm the equipment’s input requirements, expected daily energy use, and any need for a pure sine wave or uninterrupted power with its manufacturer or care provider. Check that the station can supply the required continuous and startup output, and that its usable capacity covers the planned duration with a safety margin. A portable station may not provide the same continuity as a dedicated medical backup battery or UPS. Keep a second charging method available and follow the medical device maker’s emergency guidance. Do not make a critical-care plan around a single station without confirming compatibility.
Conclusion
Best overall: I would start with the EcoFlow Delta 3 Max for a balanced emergency setup built around 2048Wh and a 220W panel. Best premium: the Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus is the stronger fit when longer backup time matters more than compact size, while the 3584Wh, 3600W listing gives buyers clear capacity and output figures to compare. Best value for a defined, lighter-duty plan: the Jackery Explorer 300 with 40W panel suits basic electronics and lighting, but I would skip it for major appliances. Best for beginners: the Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 with 200W panel offers a middle-ground capacity and a straightforward starter bundle for essential devices. For higher-output needs, look at the Jackery Explorer 2000 v2; for a small, simple backup kit, consider the EM300 or ZeroKor 300W. Match the station to your actual loads and solar plan before deciding.















