Among these whole house battery backup systems, I’d put the EF ECOFLOW DELTA Pro Ultra X first for buyers seeking a scalable battery-and-solar setup, while the ECO-WORTHY 10,000W system stands out for a bundled inverter-and-battery design and the Generac 14 kW standby generator for automatic, long-duration backup. The key tradeoff is that portable power stations are simpler to move and deploy, but their capacity and home integration may be limited; fixed battery systems can serve more circuits, but need careful planning and compatible equipment. Generators can run longer with fuel, but they are not battery systems and bring combustion, noise, and maintenance considerations. I compare capacity, output, expansion, integration, and setup demands across all 14 options. Read on for the full breakdown and to see which type fits your home and backup priorities.
Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The DELTA Pro Ultra X is the most compelling battery-based direction in this lineup for buyers who want solar input and room to build a larger backup setup, rather than a single portable unit.
- Whole-home backup depends on system integration, not just battery capacity. The ECOFLOW Smart Home Panel 2 is a hub, while several other listings are batteries or power stations that may need additional equipment to serve home circuits.
- The ECO-WORTHY 10,000W system is a different value proposition from portable power stations: it bundles a substantial inverter with 10,240Wh of batteries, but demands more planning around installation and compatibility.
- Battery-only and fuel-powered options solve different outage problems. Generac and Westinghouse generators can provide extended power with fuel, while the battery products avoid routine fuel use but are limited by stored energy and recharge access.
- Several listings are components, not turnkey whole-house systems. The ECO-WORTHY rack batteries, Powermega batteries, AOUSK battery, and Smart Home Panel 2 need a compatibility and system-design check before purchase.
| Generac 14 kW Whole-Home Standby Generator with Transfer Switch and Cellular Connectivity | ![]() | Best for Automatic, Fuel-Powered Whole-Home Backup | Output: 14,000 watts | Voltage and frequency: 240 volts; 60 hertz | Power source: Natural gas or liquid propane | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station, 3584Wh, 3600W | ![]() | Best Portable Battery for Expandable Backup | Battery capacity: 3,584Wh | Output: 3,600W | Parallel output: 7,200W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| EF ECOFLOW DELTA Pro Ultra X Portable Power Station with Four 400W Solar Panels | ![]() | Best for High-Capacity Solar Whole-Home Backup | Output: 12,000 watts | Battery capacity: 12,288Wh | Expandable capacity: 12–180kWh | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ECO-WORTHY Cubix100 48V 600Ah LiFePO4 Server Rack Battery System, 6-Pack | ![]() | Best Battery Bank for Custom 48V Systems | Battery chemistry: LiFePO₄ | System voltage: 51.2V (48V nominal) | Battery capacity: 100Ah per battery; 600Ah total | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| EF ECOFLOW DELTA Pro Portable Power Station, 3600Wh, 3600W AC Output | ![]() | Best for Multi-Device Portable Backup | Battery capacity: 3,600Wh | Battery type: LFP | Running output: 3,600W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery HomePower 3000 Portable Power Station with Two 200W Solar Panels | ![]() | Best Portable Solar-Ready Pick | Battery capacity: 3,072Wh | Battery chemistry: LiFePO4; 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity | AC output: 3,600W; 7,200W surge | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus Portable Power Station, 5040Wh, 7200W | ![]() | Best Expandable Portable Backup | Capacity: 5,040Wh | AC output: 7,200W | Surge power: 14,400W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| EF ECOFLOW Smart Home Panel 2 Whole-Home Backup System Hub | ![]() | Best for Whole-Home Circuit Integration | Model: EFPD303 | Compatible systems: DELTA Pro Ultra, DELTA Pro 3, solar generators, and gas generators | Circuit capacity: 12-circuit sub-panel | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ECO-WORTHY Powermega 48V 314Ah LiFePO4 Battery, 2-Pack | ![]() | Best for Large Modular Battery Storage | Pack quantity: 2 batteries | Energy capacity: 16.07kWh per battery | Battery chemistry: LiFePO4 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| OSCAL PowerMax 6000 Solar Generator with Three 400W Solar Panels | ![]() | Best Included-Panel Dual-Voltage Package | Battery capacity: 3,600Wh | Battery chemistry: LiFePO4 | AC output: 6,000W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ECO-WORTHY 48V Home Backup Power System with 10,240Wh LiFePO4 Batteries and 10,000W Inverter | ![]() | Best Expandable 48V Kit | Battery chemistry: LiFePO4 | Battery capacity: 10,240Wh total | Inverter output: 10,000W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Pro Max Portable Power Station, 3584Wh | ![]() | Best Quiet Portable Whole-Home Starter | Battery capacity: 3,584Wh | Expandable capacity: Up to 43kWh | Output power: 4,000W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Westinghouse WGen20000c 28,000-Watt Portable Generator with Remote Electric Start and CO Sensor | ![]() | Best High-Output Fuel-Powered Backup | Fuel type: Gasoline | Running wattage: 20,000W | Peak wattage: 28,000W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| AOUSK 51.2V 314Ah LiFePO4 Lithium Battery, 16.07 kWh | ![]() | Best Single-Battery Storage Upgrade | Nominal voltage: 51.2V | Capacity: 314Ah | Energy: 16.07kWh | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| whole house battery backup system | Weight | Battery chemistry | Battery capacity |
|---|---|---|---|
| Generac 14 kW Whole-Home Stand | 391 pounds | — | — |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Po | 77.2 pounds | LFP | 3,584Wh |
| EF ECOFLOW DELTA Pro Ultra X P | 350 pounds | LiFePO₄ | 12,288Wh |
| ECO-WORTHY Cubix100 48V 600Ah | — | LiFePO₄ | 100Ah per battery; 600Ah total |
| EF ECOFLOW DELTA Pro Portable | 99 pounds | — | 3,600Wh |
| Jackery HomePower 3000 Portabl | 59.5 lb | LiFePO4; 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity | 3,072Wh |
| Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus Por | 134.5 lb | LiFePO4 | — |
| EF ECOFLOW Smart Home Panel 2 | 40 lb | — | — |
| ECO-WORTHY Powermega 48V 314Ah | — | LiFePO4 | — |
| OSCAL PowerMax 6000 Solar Gene | 45.5kg | LiFePO4 | 3,600Wh |
| ECO-WORTHY 48V Home Backup Pow | — | LiFePO4 | 10,240Wh total |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Pro Max | 74 pounds | — | 3,584Wh |
| Westinghouse WGen20000c 28,000 | — | — | — |
| AOUSK 51.2V 314Ah LiFePO4 Lith | 291 pounds | LiFePO4 | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Generac 14 kW Whole-Home Standby Generator with Transfer Switch and Cellular Connectivity
For a homeowner who wants backup to start without wheeling out equipment or managing a battery, I rank this Generac first among the lineup’s automatic standby options. Its 14 kW output, natural gas or propane connection, and automatic 200-amp transfer switch are built around responding to a utility outage, while the Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus and EF ECOFLOW DELTA Pro depend on stored battery capacity and a charging plan. Cellular monitoring can help owners check system status remotely, though the described Mobile Link service requires a premium subscription. This is not a quiet, self-contained battery system: it relies on fuel, a suitable installation, and an internal-combustion engine. At 391 pounds, setup is more involved than moving a portable power station, and its output is far below the expandable EcoFlow DELTA Pro Ultra X’s stated 12,000 watts.
Pros:- Automatic transfer switch starts backup when utility power is lost.
- 14 kW output is designed for residential backup.
- Runs on natural gas or liquid propane.
- Built-in cellular connectivity supports app monitoring and maintenance alerts.
Cons:- Requires fuel supply and professional planning for a fixed standby installation.
- Mobile Link premium subscription is required for the described service.
- At 391 pounds, delivery and installation are more involved than with portable battery units.
Best for: Homeowners with an existing natural-gas or propane supply who want automatic outage response and remote system monitoring.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a battery-only system, portable backup, or a system that avoids ongoing fuel and subscription requirements.
- Output:14,000 watts
- Voltage and frequency:240 volts; 60 hertz
- Power source:Natural gas or liquid propane
- Transfer switch:Automatic 200 amp
- Engine and ignition:Internal combustion; electronic ignition
- Connectivity:Built-in cellular; Mobile Link app monitoring and control
- Weight:391 pounds
- Dimensions:46.4 x 26.3 x 30.7 inches
Our verdict“Choose the Generac if automatic fuel-powered outage response matters more than battery storage, portability, or high expandable output.”
Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station, 3584Wh, 3600W
I’d pick the HomePower 3600 Plus for buyers who want a battery they can move, recharge in several ways, and expand over time—not a fixed standby installation. Its 3,584Wh capacity and 3,600W output provide a useful starting point for essential loads, while expansion up to 21kWh per unit gives it a clearer growth path than the 3,600Wh EF ECOFLOW DELTA Pro as specified here. The 12,000W DELTA Pro Ultra X is a much stronger whole-home contender for output and capacity, but it is also far heavier and is not the choice for someone prioritizing a wheeled, luggage-style unit. Jackery’s AC, solar, generator, and hybrid charging options offer flexibility during prolonged outages. Still, this is not a turnkey whole-house system by itself: its 120V output, two outlets, and 77.2-pound weight call for careful load planning, and solar panels are optional.
Pros:- 3,584Wh LFP battery capacity with expansion up to 21kWh per unit.
- Supports AC, solar, gas-generator, and hybrid charging.
- Wheels and a telescopic handle make movement easier than carrying a comparable battery.
- Manufacturer-rated LFP lifespan of 6,000 cycles and 10 years.
Cons:- At 77.2 pounds, it can still be difficult to lift into a vehicle or up stairs.
- Solar panels are optional, adding a separate purchase for solar charging.
- 120V output and two outlets limit direct whole-house use without a compatible integration setup.
Best for: Households that want portable battery backup for selected essentials now, with the option to add storage and charging sources later.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need automatic whole-house transfer, substantial 240V output from a single unit, or a lightweight battery they can lift easily.
- Battery capacity:3,584Wh
- Output:3,600W
- Parallel output:7,200W
- Voltage:120V; 240V in parallel
- Capacity expansion:Up to 21kWh per unit; up to 43kWh with multiple units
- Battery chemistry:LFP
- Charging options:Hybrid AC+DC, AC, solar, and gas generator
- Weight:77.2 pounds
- Warranty:5 years
Our verdict“Choose the HomePower 3600 Plus for movable, expandable backup for selected household loads rather than an automatic whole-house installation.”
EF ECOFLOW DELTA Pro Ultra X Portable Power Station with Four 400W Solar Panels
Among the battery options here, the DELTA Pro Ultra X is the clearest fit for buyers building toward high-output, whole-home backup. Its stated 12,000W output and capacity expansion from 12kWh to 180kWh give it far more headroom than the Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus or the 3,600Wh DELTA Pro, especially for households that need to support more than a small set of essential devices. The under-20-millisecond transfer time is intended to limit interruption when power fails, and the package description includes four 400W portable solar panels for recharging. That capability comes with real setup and handling demands: the system weighs 350 pounds, and the inverter, extra battery, and solar panels ship separately according to the supplied product data. I’d favor it over the Generac for a battery-and-solar approach, but not for buyers who want a compact, single-piece backup unit.
Pros:- 12,000W stated output is substantially higher than the portable Jackery and DELTA Pro options.
- Capacity can expand from 12kWh up to 180kWh.
- Under-20-millisecond transfer time supports fast outage response.
- Product listing specifies four 400W portable solar panels.
Cons:- The 350-pound system is difficult to move and calls for careful installation planning.
- The inverter, extra battery, and solar panels are listed as shipping separately.
- A large expandable system requires more planning than a single portable power station.
Best for: Homeowners planning a large expandable battery system who want high stated output, solar charging, and rapid outage switching.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a light, simple portable unit or expect every major system component to arrive together in one shipment.
- Output:12,000 watts
- Battery capacity:12,288Wh
- Expandable capacity:12–180kWh
- Solar panels:Four 400W portable panels
- Transfer time:Under 20 milliseconds
- Battery chemistry:LiFePO₄
- Weight:350 pounds
- Dimensions:26.6 × 18.7 × 9.06 inches
Our verdict“Choose the DELTA Pro Ultra X if you want a high-output solar battery platform with substantial expansion headroom and can manage its weight and component logistics.”
ECO-WORTHY Cubix100 48V 600Ah LiFePO4 Server Rack Battery System, 6-Pack
I’d shortlist the Cubix100 for a buyer who already has a compatible 48V inverter and wants a substantial battery bank, rather than someone seeking a ready-to-run whole-house system. Six batteries provide 30.72kWh of storage, putting this pack well beyond the Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus’s base capacity and above the DELTA Pro’s stated 3.6kWh. CAN and RS485 communication, plus Bluetooth and Wi-Fi monitoring, give system builders several ways to track battery status; expansion up to 32 units leaves room to grow further. The tradeoff is that this is a battery system, not a complete backup solution: the rack is not included, and the supplied information does not specify an inverter or transfer equipment. Its certifications and 10-year limited warranty add useful support for a permanent installation, but buyers need to plan compatibility, mounting, and the rest of the power system themselves.
Pros:- Six batteries provide 30.72kWh total storage.
- Supports CAN, RS485, Bluetooth, and Wi-Fi monitoring.
- Expandable by paralleling up to 32 units.
- UL9540 and UL1973 certified, CEC listed, with a 10-year limited warranty.
Cons:- Server rack is not included.
- An inverter and other whole-house integration equipment are not specified as included.
- The six batteries may arrive in multiple packages, requiring coordinated delivery and installation.
Best for: Homeowners and off-grid system builders who have or are sourcing a compatible 48V inverter and need a large, expandable battery bank.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a complete, plug-in whole-house backup system or those without space and equipment for a server-rack-style installation.
- Battery chemistry:LiFePO₄
- System voltage:51.2V (48V nominal)
- Battery capacity:100Ah per battery; 600Ah total
- Number of batteries:6
- Total energy capacity:30.72kWh
- Communication:CAN, RS485, Bluetooth, and Wi-Fi
- Maximum expansion:32 units; up to 163.8kWh
- Certifications:UL9540, UL1973, and CEC listed
- Warranty:10-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the Cubix100 when you need a large 48V battery bank for a compatible custom system, not a complete backup package.”
EF ECOFLOW DELTA Pro Portable Power Station, 3600Wh, 3600W AC Output
The DELTA Pro makes more sense as a flexible backup hub for household devices and selected circuits than as a complete whole-house system on its own. Its 3,600Wh LFP battery, 3,600W running output, and 15 output connections give it more direct connection options than the Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus, which lists two outlets. Expansion up to 25kWh and five charging methods also let owners build beyond the base unit, though those capabilities depend on compatible accessories and a suitable setup. Compared with the DELTA Pro Ultra X, this model is far easier to frame as a portable power station, but its stated output and maximum expansion are lower. It weighs 99 pounds, so “portable” does not mean easy to carry. Some fast recharge claims require a 240V outlet or multiple solar panels, making the charging speed dependent on equipment many buyers may not already have.
Pros:- 3,600Wh LFP battery with expansion up to 25kWh.
- 15 output connections provide flexibility for powering several devices.
- Five charging methods include wall, solar, EV station, car outlet, and smart generator.
- Wi-Fi and Bluetooth app control support remote monitoring and control.
Cons:- At 99 pounds, it is difficult to move without help.
- Some stated recharge times rely on a 240V outlet or multiple solar panels.
- Whole-house use and higher output require compatible accessories or pairing rather than relying on the base unit alone.
Best for: Households needing a high-connection-count portable battery for several essential devices, with a path to add capacity later.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need automatic whole-house transfer, easy one-person lifting, or fast charging without access to higher-power outlets or multiple panels.
- Battery capacity:3,600Wh
- Battery type:LFP
- Running output:3,600W
- Maximum output:4,500W with X-Boost; 7,200W when pairing two units
- Expandable capacity:Up to 25kWh
- Charging methods:EV station, solar, wall outlet, smart generator, and car outlet
- Output connections:15
- Weight:99 pounds
- App control:Wi-Fi and Bluetooth
Our verdict“Choose the DELTA Pro for flexible, expandable backup across many devices, but look to the DELTA Pro Ultra X for much higher stated whole-home output.”
Jackery HomePower 3000 Portable Power Station with Two 200W Solar Panels
The HomePower 3000 suits buyers who want a portable backup package with solar panels included, rather than a stationary system wired into the home. Its 3,072Wh capacity and 3,600W output can run selected household appliances, while the 20ms UPS feature can help keep supported electronics powered through an outage. Compared with the Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus, it is lighter and easier to move, but has far less storage and does not list 240V output or major capacity expansion. The two 200W panels offer a way to recharge off-grid, though the stated solar recharge time is about nine hours to reach 80%, so they are better for replenishment than rapid recovery. I’d choose it for flexible, smaller-scale backup—not as a substitute for a hardwired whole-house system. Its 59.5-pound weight and potentially separate panel shipment are practical drawbacks.
Pros:- 3,072Wh capacity and 3,600W output support a useful range of backup loads.
- Two included 200W solar panels provide an off-grid charging option.
- LiFePO4 battery is rated for 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity.
- Multiple recharge methods include AC, hybrid AC/DC, car charging, and a gas generator.
Cons:- Solar charging with the included panels takes up to nine hours to reach 80%.
- At 59.5 pounds, moving it is a two-handed task for many users.
- Power station and panels may arrive in separate packages.
Best for: Households seeking portable outage power for selected appliances and electronics, with included panels for occasional solar recharging.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need hardwired whole-home coverage, 240V output, or long runtimes for multiple high-draw appliances.
- Battery capacity:3,072Wh
- Battery chemistry:LiFePO4; 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity
- AC output:3,600W; 7,200W surge
- Included solar panels:Two 200W panels
- UPS transfer time:Up to 20ms
- AC recharge time:2.2 hours
- Weight:59.5 lb
- Ports:AC, USB-C, USB-A, and DC; dual 100W USB-C PD ports
Our verdict“Choose the HomePower 3000 for portable backup with included solar panels, but look to the Explorer 5000 Plus or a wired system for greater capacity and whole-home circuit support.”
Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus Portable Power Station, 5040Wh, 7200W
For a portable unit aimed at larger backup loads, the Explorer 5000 Plus brings the lineup’s most useful combination of 120V/240V output and expandable storage. Its 5,040Wh base capacity and 7,200W rated output give it more headroom than the Jackery HomePower 3000, while expansion to 60kWh can support a much longer-running setup when paired with additional batteries. That flexibility makes it a stronger candidate for selected home circuits, including 240V loads, though the product is still a portable power station rather than a complete installed whole-house system. The tradeoff is substantial: at 134.5 pounds, it is not easy to reposition, and the solar panels needed to use its 4,000W solar input are optional. I’d rank it above smaller portable stations for scalable backup, but below a purpose-built home system for buyers who want an integrated installation.
Pros:- 7,200W rated output and 120V/240V support serve a wider range of loads than the HomePower 3000.
- Expandable capacity reaches up to 60kWh for longer backup runtimes.
- Supports up to 4,000W of solar input.
- LiFePO4 battery is rated for up to 11 years of daily use.
Cons:- The 134.5-pound unit is difficult to move or reposition.
- Solar panels are not included.
- Only two outlets are listed, so circuit-level home integration may require compatible equipment.
Best for: Homeowners who want portable 120V/240V backup now and the option to add storage for longer outages.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a light, frequently moved power station or a ready-to-install whole-house system with included solar panels.
- Capacity:5,040Wh
- AC output:7,200W
- Surge power:14,400W
- Output voltage:120V/240V
- Expandable capacity:Up to 60kWh
- Maximum solar input:4,000W
- Battery chemistry:LiFePO4
- Weight:134.5 lb
- Warranty:5 years
Our verdict“Pick the Explorer 5000 Plus if you want high-output portable backup that can grow substantially, and skip it if portability or an all-in-one installed system matters more.”
EF ECOFLOW Smart Home Panel 2 Whole-Home Backup System Hub
Unlike a standalone battery station, the EcoFlow Smart Home Panel 2 is the component that connects compatible backup sources to selected household circuits. Its 12-circuit sub-panel and automatic 20ms switchover make it the most directly home-integrated option in this group, provided you pair it with a compatible DELTA Pro Ultra or DELTA Pro 3 system. That distinction matters: the panel does not supply energy by itself, and its listed maximum storage depends on a larger multi-unit configuration. Compared with the portable Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus, it offers a more structured route to managing home circuits, but sacrifices plug-and-play simplicity and requires professional installation. App-based energy controls add useful oversight, yet the EcoFlow-specific compatibility limits flexibility if you already own another brand’s equipment. I’d favor it for buyers planning a coordinated, installed backup setup.
Pros:- Manages backup for up to 12 circuits through a sub-panel.
- Automatic 20ms switchover helps maintain power to connected circuits during an outage.
- Works with compatible EcoFlow battery systems, solar, and gas generators.
- App controls provide energy-management options.
Cons:- Requires professional installation.
- Does not include a battery or provide backup power on its own.
- Compatibility is limited to specified EcoFlow systems and supported power sources.
Best for: Homeowners building a compatible EcoFlow backup system who want automatic transfer and control over selected circuits.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a standalone battery, a DIY plug-in solution, or a hub compatible with power stations from other brands.
- Model:EFPD303
- Compatible systems:DELTA Pro Ultra, DELTA Pro 3, solar generators, and gas generators
- Circuit capacity:12-circuit sub-panel
- Automatic switchover:20ms
- Maximum listed storage:36kWh with 3 DELTA Pro 3 units and 6 Extra Batteries
- App control:EcoFlow app
- Installation:Professional installation required
- Weight:40 lb
- Warranty:3 years
Our verdict“Choose the Smart Home Panel 2 when you want installed, automatic circuit backup with compatible EcoFlow equipment, not as a battery purchase on its own.”
ECO-WORTHY Powermega 48V 314Ah LiFePO4 Battery, 2-Pack
The Powermega two-pack is a battery-bank choice for buyers building a fixed 48V solar or home-backup system—not a ready-to-use backup station. Each battery is listed at 16.07kWh, giving the pair substantial storage potential, and support for parallel expansion offers a path to still larger systems. The UL 1973 certification, active-balancing BMS, and built-in aerosol fire suppression are meaningful features for a substantial stationary installation. Compared with the EcoFlow Smart Home Panel 2, this product supplies storage rather than circuit switching, so buyers must select compatible inverter and transfer equipment separately. Its monitoring options and touchscreen offer more system data than a basic battery, but the scale brings logistical and setup demands: it is large, ships by truck on a pallet, and delivery requires suitable access. I’d shortlist it for an installer-led build, not for someone seeking a simple outage appliance.
Pros:- Two batteries provide substantial listed storage for a stationary backup or off-grid build.
- UL 1973 certification, active cell balancing, and built-in aerosol fire suppression support safety-focused system design.
- Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, touchscreen, and multiple communications ports provide monitoring and integration options.
- Supports parallel expansion to as many as 15 units.
Cons:- Requires compatible inverter and system components; it is not a standalone backup power station.
- Large, heavy units require planning for installation and placement.
- Palletized truck delivery requires an address that can accommodate freight.
Best for: Homeowners or off-grid system builders working with a compatible 48V inverter who need a large, expandable battery bank.
Not ideal for: Buyers wanting a plug-in power station or a complete whole-home backup package with inverter and transfer hardware included.
- Pack quantity:2 batteries
- Energy capacity:16.07kWh per battery
- Battery chemistry:LiFePO4
- Nominal voltage:48V (51.2V)
- Capacity:314Ah
- BMS:200A smart BMS with active cell balancing
- Safety certification:UL 1973
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, RS485, CAN, and RS232
- Warranty:10 years
Our verdict“Choose the Powermega pair for a professionally planned, expandable 48V battery bank, and skip it if you need an integrated backup system that works out of the box.”
OSCAL PowerMax 6000 Solar Generator with Three 400W Solar Panels
The OSCAL PowerMax 6000 pairs a 3,600Wh battery with 6,000W dual-voltage output and three included 400W solar panels, making it a strong package for portable backup where 120V and 240V loads matter. Its output exceeds the Jackery HomePower 3000’s 3,600W rating, and the listed 5–8ms EPS switchover is faster than the HomePower’s up-to-20ms figure. Those numbers do not make it a whole-house installation by themselves: buyers still need to match loads, connections, and any required transfer equipment to their home. The included panels are a practical advantage over the Explorer 5000 Plus, which lists solar input but does not include panels. In return, the OSCAL is heavy at 45.5kg, its battery capacity is modest for extended whole-home coverage, and its warranty is two years. I’d choose it for included solar and high output, not long-duration house-wide autonomy.
Pros:- 6,000W output and 120V/240V support a broad range of compatible loads.
- Three included 400W solar panels provide 1,200W of panel capacity.
- EPS switchover is listed at 5–8ms.
- LiFePO4 battery and app monitoring support managed backup use.
Cons:- The 3,600Wh battery may not sustain multiple high-draw household loads for long.
- At 45.5kg, it is cumbersome to move.
- The two-year warranty is shorter than the Explorer 5000 Plus’s five-year warranty.
Best for: Households seeking a portable 120V/240V backup unit with substantial output and included solar panels for recharging.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a hardwired whole-house system, a lightweight station, or enough storage for prolonged high-load outages.
- Battery capacity:3,600Wh
- Battery chemistry:LiFePO4
- AC output:6,000W
- Surge output:9,000W
- Output voltage:120V/240V dual voltage
- Solar panels included:Three 400W panels
- Solar charging input:2,400W
- EPS switchover:5–8ms
- Weight:45.5kg
Our verdict“Pick the PowerMax 6000 for portable dual-voltage backup with panels included, but choose a larger expandable system for longer whole-home runtimes.”
ECO-WORTHY 48V Home Backup Power System with 10,240Wh LiFePO4 Batteries and 10,000W Inverter
I’d put this kit on the shortlist for buyers who want a fixed 48V battery-and-inverter foundation rather than a portable power station. Its two LiFePO4 batteries provide 10,240Wh, while the 10,000W inverter supports 120V and 240V split-phase loads—useful for a broader home circuit mix than a single-voltage backup unit. Dual MPPT controllers and a 200A charger also make it suited to a solar-oriented setup. Compared with the Jackery HomePower 3600 Pro Max, this kit starts with more storage and inverter output, but it takes more planning to install and is not an all-in-one portable station. Its headline expansion potential is another tradeoff: reaching it means buying additional equipment, and the kit ships in multiple packages. I’d choose it for a buildable system, not a quick plug-in backup.
Pros:- Two LiFePO4 batteries provide 10,240Wh of starting storage
- 10,000W inverter supports 120V and 240V split-phase output
- Can expand to as many as six inverters and 32 batteries in parallel
- Bluetooth and Wi-Fi monitoring, with UL1973 and UL1741 testing listed
Cons:- Expansion capacity depends on purchasing additional inverters and batteries
- Multiple-package shipping can complicate receiving and setup
- A component-based system requires more installation planning than a portable power station
Best for: Homeowners planning a 48V solar-backed system who need split-phase output and room to add batteries or inverters over time
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a ready-to-use portable power station or do not want to plan for system installation and additional expansion equipment
- Battery chemistry:LiFePO4
- Battery capacity:10,240Wh total
- Inverter output:10,000W
- Peak output:20,000W
- Output voltage:120V or 240V split-phase; 120V single-phase
- Charger:Up to 200A
- Expansion:Up to 6 inverters and 32 batteries in parallel
- Monitoring:Bluetooth and Wi-Fi via ECO-WORTHY app
Our verdict“Choose this kit if you want a scalable 48V foundation with split-phase output, and skip it if you need a simple portable backup unit.”
Jackery HomePower 3600 Pro Max Portable Power Station, 3584Wh
I see the HomePower 3600 Pro Max as a quiet, fast-switching entry point for targeted home backup, rather than a complete answer for every household circuit. It supplies 3,584Wh and up to 4,000W, with 120V/240V output and a UPS switch time under 10ms. That quick handoff can help keep connected equipment running through an outage, while operation under 30dB is a clear advantage over the Westinghouse WGen20000c, which offers far more output but runs on gasoline and is much less suited to quiet indoor-adjacent use. Capacity can expand to 43kWh, but the base unit is still only 3.6kWh, so buyers should distinguish future potential from storage included now. At 74 pounds, it is portable in principle, not effortless to move. I’d favor it for quieter, modular backup—not for high-demand whole-house coverage from one unit.
Pros:- Provides 120V and 240V output from one station
- Under-10ms UPS switching supports connected devices during an outage
- Quiet operation rated under 30dB
- Expandable capacity reaches up to 43kWh
Cons:- The included 3,584Wh capacity may not cover a large household for long
- Reaching the stated expansion capacity requires additional equipment
- Weighs 74 pounds, limiting convenient carrying
Best for: Households seeking quiet battery backup for selected circuits or devices, with a plan to expand storage and a preference for fast UPS switching
Not ideal for: Buyers who need high sustained output and long runtime from the base configuration, or anyone expecting a 74-pound unit to be easy to carry frequently
- Battery capacity:3,584Wh
- Expandable capacity:Up to 43kWh
- Output power:4,000W
- Voltage:120V/240V
- Battery type:LFP
- Battery cycle life:6,000 cycles
- UPS switch time:Under 10ms
- Noise level:Under 30dB
- Weight:74 pounds
Our verdict“Pick it for quiet, expandable backup with fast switching, but look elsewhere if you need substantial whole-house runtime immediately.”
Westinghouse WGen20000c 28,000-Watt Portable Generator with Remote Electric Start and CO Sensor
For buyers who prioritize high output over battery storage, the WGen20000c is the clear outlier in this group. Its 20,000 running watts and 240V output can support a much larger load than the Jackery HomePower 3600 Pro Max, whose 4,000W output and battery capacity suit a more limited, quieter backup role. The Westinghouse’s 30A and 50A outlets can connect with compatible transfer switches or interlock kits, but those connection components are sold separately, so this is not a ready-to-install whole-house package. Gasoline also makes the system dependent on fuel availability and outdoor operation; its 17-gallon tank is listed for 11 hours of runtime. Electric start, a CO sensor, and under-5% THD add useful safeguards and power-quality details, but they do not remove the noise, handling, and refueling demands of a large generator.
Pros:- 20,000 running watts provide high output for home backup loads
- 30A and 50A outlets support compatible transfer-switch and interlock connections
- Under-5% total harmonic distortion is specified for sensitive electronics
- Electric start, CO sensor, and automatic low-oil shutdown are included
Cons:- Transfer switch or interlock equipment is sold separately
- Gasoline operation requires fuel storage and refueling during extended outages
- Large, heavy-duty construction can make repositioning difficult despite wheels and handles
Best for: Homeowners with a properly planned outdoor generator location who need substantial 240V output and are prepared to manage gasoline and transfer equipment
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking silent indoor battery backup, automatic whole-house integration in the box, or a lightweight unit that one person can reposition easily
- Fuel type:Gasoline
- Running wattage:20,000W
- Peak wattage:28,000W
- Engine:999cc 4-stroke V-twin OHV
- Fuel tank capacity:17 gallons
- Listed runtime:11 hours
- Outlets:10 total, including 30A and 50A outlets
- Voltage:240V
- Total harmonic distortion:Less than 5%
Our verdict“Choose this generator when high 240V output and fuel-based operation matter more than quiet, maintenance-light battery backup.”
AOUSK 51.2V 314Ah LiFePO4 Lithium Battery, 16.07 kWh
The AOUSK is a storage component, not a complete backup system: it supplies 16.07kWh of LiFePO4 capacity, but buyers still need a compatible inverter and a suitable home connection setup. That distinction matters when comparing it with the ECO-WORTHY 48V Home Backup Power System, which includes an inverter and two batteries but starts with less total storage. AOUSK’s 200A BMS, dual breakers, and RS485 and CAN interfaces give system builders several integration and monitoring routes; the display, app, and PC connection also help track battery status. Its stated cycle life is up to 6,000 cycles at 80% state of health. The tradeoff is substantial physical mass: at 291 pounds, wheels and handles help with positioning but do not make it easy to move. I’d shortlist it for a compatible 51.2V installation, not for plug-and-play whole-house backup.
Pros:- 16.07kWh of storage in one LiFePO4 battery
- 200A BMS and dual breakers are built in
- RS485, CAN, RS232, Bluetooth, and Wi-Fi support system communication and monitoring
- Can connect up to 15 units in parallel
Cons:- Requires a compatible inverter and other system equipment to provide home backup
- Weighs 291 pounds, making placement a substantial task
- Product data lists a battery quantity of 16 despite describing a single battery
Best for: Solar and backup-system builders who already have, or are selecting, a compatible 51.2V inverter and want a large single battery module
Not ideal for: Buyers who need an all-in-one system with inverter and home connection hardware, or who cannot safely position a 291-pound battery
- Nominal voltage:51.2V
- Capacity:314Ah
- Energy:16.07kWh
- Battery chemistry:LiFePO4
- BMS:200A
- Cycle life:Up to 6,000 cycles at 80% state of health
- Communication interfaces:RS485, CAN, RS232, Bluetooth, and Wi-Fi
- Parallel connection:Up to 15 units
- Weight:291 pounds
Our verdict“Choose this battery if your compatible 51.2V system needs substantial storage; skip it if you want a complete backup kit or easier handling.”

How We Picked
I ranked these options by how credibly they can support a home during an outage, not by headline capacity alone. I compared usable energy and output where listed, ability to expand or recharge, solar support, home-circuit integration, and whether the product is a complete power source or a component that requires an inverter, transfer equipment, or professional installation. I also weighed practical ownership factors: setup complexity, fuel or maintenance needs, portability, and the likelihood that a buyer can match the equipment to essential loads.
The order favors systems that offer a clearer path to meaningful home backup and useful expansion, followed by strong choices for narrower needs such as portable emergency power or battery storage components. A generator is included because it competes for the same outage-preparation budget, but it is not treated as a battery system. Products with impressive battery figures do not rank as turnkey solutions when the listing does not establish the required inverter, transfer setup, or home integration; buyers should verify those details before treating them as whole-house-ready.
| whole house battery backup system | Battery chemistry |
|---|---|
| Generac 14 kW Whole-Home Stand | — |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Po | LFP |
| EF ECOFLOW DELTA Pro Ultra X P | LiFePO₄ |
| ECO-WORTHY Cubix100 48V 600Ah | LiFePO₄ |
| EF ECOFLOW DELTA Pro Portable | — |
| Jackery HomePower 3000 Portabl | LiFePO4; 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity |
| Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus Por | LiFePO4 |
| EF ECOFLOW Smart Home Panel 2 | — |
| ECO-WORTHY Powermega 48V 314Ah | LiFePO4 |
| OSCAL PowerMax 6000 Solar Gene | LiFePO4 |
| ECO-WORTHY 48V Home Backup Pow | LiFePO4 |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Pro Max | — |
| Westinghouse WGen20000c 28,000 | — |
| AOUSK 51.2V 314Ah LiFePO4 Lith | LiFePO4 |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Whole House Battery Backup Systems
Before choosing among whole house battery backup systems, I’d start with the loads you need to protect and how the system will connect to your home. The product category includes complete power stations, battery banks, integration hardware, and fuel generators, so similar-sounding listings may not do the same job. These checks can prevent a capacity mismatch or a purchase that still needs major components.
1. Define essential loads before sizing capacity
List the circuits you want during an outage rather than assuming “whole house” means every appliance runs at once. Refrigerators, lighting, internet equipment, and a furnace blower can create a very different demand profile from electric water heating, cooking, or central air conditioning. Check both running watts and startup surges, since motors and compressors may briefly draw more power than their normal operating figures. A battery’s stored energy tells you how long it may run loads; inverter output determines whether it can run them together. Build in a reserve for cold-weather or multi-day outages instead of sizing to an ideal scenario. If you cannot estimate loads confidently, an electrician or qualified installer can review the circuits before you buy.
2. Separate energy capacity from power output
Capacity, commonly stated in watt-hours or kilowatt-hours, describes stored energy; watts describe the rate at which a system can deliver it. A large battery can still fall short if its inverter cannot start a pump or support several appliances operating together. Conversely, high output does not promise long runtime if the battery is small. Compare continuous output, surge capability, and the connection method for each unit, not only its largest number on the product page. For a home with large loads, ask whether the system can run them directly or only through a managed backup panel. This distinction is especially helpful when comparing portable power stations with fixed battery-and-inverter systems.
3. Confirm what “whole-home” integration includes
A power station with household outlets is not automatically wired to back up a home’s circuits. A transfer switch or smart panel may be needed to route power safely, isolate the home from utility lines, and choose which circuits receive backup. Some products in this lineup are integration hardware or batteries rather than complete systems, so verify what else must be purchased and who can install it. Ask whether the system supports whole-panel backup, selected-load backup, or only plug-in appliances. Confirm compatibility with your electrical service, existing solar equipment, and any generator you plan to keep. Getting this answer before purchase can prevent a battery from arriving without a workable connection plan.
4. Plan for recharge during a long outage
Stored energy only covers the period before the battery needs recharging, so consider how you will replenish it when the grid stays down. Solar panels can extend runtime, but output varies with season, shading, weather, panel placement, and the system’s solar input limits. Check whether panels are included, what connectors are required, and whether the battery can charge while powering loads. A fuel generator can provide another charging route when compatible, though that adds fuel storage, ventilation, noise, and maintenance needs. Do not assume that a bundled solar panel array will fully recharge a large battery each day; compare expected generation with your daily use. A realistic recharge plan matters more than a best-case panel rating.
5. Match installation demands to your home and skills
Portable units are generally easier to position and use for appliances, but connecting them to fixed home circuits can require approved transfer equipment and qualified work. Rack batteries and separate inverters offer flexibility for a designed system, yet they put more responsibility on the buyer to confirm voltage, communications, wiring, and protective devices. Check the manufacturer’s installation requirements, location limits, ventilation needs, and warranty conditions before choosing a DIY path. Fixed battery systems also need a suitable space and a plan for future service. Paying for professional design can make sense when the system must coordinate with solar, a panel, or multiple battery modules. Choose based on the complete installed arrangement, not just the equipment in the box.
6. Decide whether battery backup or a generator fits the outage
Battery systems are quiet at the point of use and can supply power without storing fuel, but runtime depends on stored energy and available charging. Standby and portable generators can keep supplying power as long as fuel is available, though combustion equipment needs safe outdoor placement and regular upkeep. The Generac and Westinghouse entries compete for backup duty but should not be mistaken for battery systems. Some households may value a battery for short outages and a generator for extended events, provided the equipment is compatible and connected safely. Consider outage frequency, local fuel access, noise limits, and maintenance capacity before picking one approach. The best fit is the one that can sustain your priority loads under the conditions you actually expect.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can a portable power station back up my entire house?
Usually, a portable power station can run selected appliances, but whole-house circuit backup requires more than plugging the unit into an outlet. You need sufficient continuous and surge output, enough stored energy for your loads, and a safe, compatible way to connect it to home circuits. Some setups use a transfer switch or smart panel, and not every power station supports that arrangement. Ask an electrician to confirm the connection method and which circuits can be backed up. If your goal includes large loads such as central air conditioning or electric heating, verify those demands before treating a portable unit as a whole-home solution.
How do I tell whether a battery system can run my air conditioner or well pump?
Find the appliance’s running wattage and startup surge, then compare both figures with the backup system’s continuous and surge output. Motors and compressors can draw a brief spike when starting, and a system that handles normal running demand may still fail at startup. Also check whether other loads will operate at the same time, since their combined draw can exceed the inverter limit. For central air systems, confirm voltage and wiring requirements with an electrician or HVAC professional. Do not rely on battery capacity alone; it indicates stored energy, not the ability to start a high-demand appliance.
Do the batteries in this roundup work as complete backup systems on their own?
No. Battery listings such as the ECO-WORTHY rack units, Powermega batteries, and AOUSK battery store energy, but a home system may also need a compatible inverter, control equipment, protection devices, wiring, and a transfer arrangement. The ECOFLOW Smart Home Panel 2 is integration hardware rather than a standalone energy source. Before buying components, confirm matching voltage, inverter compatibility, communications support, and the intended installation method. Ask the seller or installer for a complete equipment list and a single-line system design. A high capacity figure does not by itself make a battery ready to power home circuits.
Is solar included enough to keep a battery backup running through a long outage?
Included panels can help recharge a battery, but they do not guarantee continuous power during a multi-day outage. Daily solar production changes with cloud cover, season, shading, panel angle, and the system’s charging limits. Compare your expected daily energy use with realistic panel output, and check whether the system can charge and supply power at the same time. You may need more panels, a smaller set of essential loads, or another charging source to cover periods of poor sunlight. If your backup plan depends on fuel generation, confirm that the battery and generator can connect safely and that the setup follows manufacturer instructions.
Should I choose a battery system or a standby generator for frequent, long outages?
For frequent outages, the decision depends on whether quiet, fuel-free stored power or extended runtime is more important to your household. A battery can cover short outages and sensitive electronics without combustion at the point of use, but it needs enough capacity and a way to recharge. A standby generator can keep supplying power while fuel is available, though it needs outdoor placement, regular maintenance, and a safe connection to the home. The Generac and Westinghouse options in this roundup are generators, not battery backups, so compare them as alternatives or possible complements. A qualified installer can help determine whether one system or a compatible combination best serves your essential circuits.
Conclusion
For the best overall battery-based path, I’d start with the EF ECOFLOW DELTA Pro Ultra X, especially if solar support and a scalable setup matter. The best value for buyers seeking a bundled inverter and battery arrangement is the ECO-WORTHY 48V 10,000W system, provided you are ready to confirm installation and compatibility details. For a premium, long-duration fuel-powered alternative, the Generac 14 kW standby generator makes more sense than a battery when extended runtime is the priority and fuel-based operation fits your home. Beginners should favor a clearly specified portable power station for essential appliances before attempting a fixed whole-home installation. For specific needs, choose the Smart Home Panel 2 for integration planning, a rack or standalone battery only as part of a verified system design, and the Westinghouse generator when portable fuel-powered output is the goal. My final check would be to match the complete system—not just the battery—to your loads, recharge plan, and installation requirements.
















