TL;DR
Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Ford says its Fathom electric pickup will provide AC bidirectional charging, allowing owners to power home circuits without buying the costly DC-to-AC bidirectional charger used by many current EV systems. Ford has not set the equipment’s final price, but says the home-backup package will cost 60% less than its $5,200 F-150 Lightning setup, before installation.
Ford says its Fathom electric pickup, which is expected to start below $30,000, will let owners use the truck’s battery to supply power to a home with less expensive equipment than Ford’s current bidirectional system. The approach uses an onboard inverter to convert battery power into alternating current (AC), reducing the need for a separate, costly DC-to-AC charger.
Ford has not finalized the price of the home-power equipment compatible with the Fathom. The company said the new AC-capable bidirectional charger will cost about half as much as the $1,300 Ford Charge Station Pro, the bidirectional charger developed for the F-150 Lightning. Customers seeking backup during an outage will also need a home backup power panel. Ford says the combined equipment will cost 60% less than its $5,200 Lightning charger-and-home-integration package. Those figures exclude installation.
The Fathom’s system differs from setups that rely on a charger to convert the truck’s direct-current (DC) battery output into AC power for household use. Ford’s design puts the inverter in the vehicle, with the truck and home equipment communicating to manage power. The company developed the technology for its Universal EV Platform with engineers from Auto Motive Power, a startup Ford acquired in 2023.
Ford says other vehicles built on that platform will also have AC bidirectional charging capability. The company is working with American Electric Power, BC Hydro, Consumers Energy, Exelon and Pacific Gas & Electric on common standards for integrating the system with utility interconnection rules. The utilities’ work began in July, according to the source report; Ford announced the collaboration on Tuesday.
Lower-Cost Backup From the Truck
The announcement addresses a major cost barrier to using an electric vehicle as a home battery. The source report puts current bidirectional equipment at just under $7,000 to more than $10,000, depending on the system, before installation. Ford’s projected reduction could make outage backup more accessible to Fathom buyers, although the total cost to each household will depend on the final equipment price and installation.
The system is also designed to manage household power while the grid remains operational, not only supply backup during outages. For drivers, that could add another use for a vehicle they already own. For utilities, wider adoption could mean more homes with equipment that exchanges power with an EV, making clear and consistent interconnection rules important.
Ford’s figures are company estimates for its equipment package, not a final retail quote or a guarantee of savings for every buyer. The announced price comparison does not include installation, and the source does not give details on how much power the Fathom can provide or for how long.
Products Worth Considering

Ring Outdoor Cam 4K Plus Battery Security Camera, 3-Pack, White

Ring Battery Doorbell (1st Gen), 2-Pack, Satin Nickel

Blueair Blue Pure 511i Max Air Purifier for Home and Bedroom
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Why Ford Is Using AC Charging
Many EVs sold in the United States do not provide home-ready AC power directly from the vehicle. Owners seeking backup have generally needed a bidirectional charger or other conversion equipment, adding cost and complexity. Ford’s approach integrates the inverter into the vehicle from the outset rather than adding the capability to an existing platform.
Ford says the system uses communications technology based on SAE J3068, a standard certified by SAE International, to support safe communication between the vehicle and home equipment. The source report also cites University of Delaware researcher Willett Kempton, who said designing the capability into a vehicle from the beginning can put the added cost of AC power conversion in the vehicle at roughly $200 to $300. That estimate concerns vehicle-side capability, not the full price of a household backup installation.
Rules remain uneven. Ford’s grid and energy services director, Dave McCreadie, said only California and Maryland had set utility regulations for AC bidirectional charging outside pilot projects, while rules and procedures vary across the more than 3,000 utilities in the United States.
“This is not going to be Ford’s last EV that is bidirectional capable.”
— Dave McCreadie, Ford’s director of grid and energy services
Price, Launch and Utility Rules
The final Fathom equipment price has not been announced, and Ford has not specified the truck’s launch date in the source report. Its stated 60% reduction compares the combined equipment package with Ford’s $5,200 Lightning setup; it does not include installation or establish the total cost for a particular home.
The report does not specify the Fathom’s backup output, how long it could power a home, which household circuits the system can support, or whether additional equipment will be needed in different installations. Those details matter to buyers weighing the system against a stationary battery or generator.
Utility approval is another open issue. Ford and its utility partners are working toward common standards, but the announcement does not say when those standards will be finalized or adopted more broadly. Availability and interconnection requirements may differ by location.
Utility Standards and Fathom Pricing
Ford’s next steps include continuing work with the five named utilities on common interconnection standards and providing more details about the compatible charger and home backup panel. Buyers will need the final equipment price, installation requirements and vehicle specifications to compare the system’s full cost with other backup options.
Further information is also needed on when the Fathom will reach customers and how utilities beyond the current partners will handle AC power flowing between a vehicle and a home. Until Ford publishes those details and local utilities clarify their rules, the announced savings remain a comparison of equipment packages rather than a confirmed household installation cost.
Key Questions
How will the Ford Fathom provide power to a home?
Ford says the pickup will use an onboard inverter to convert electricity from its DC battery into AC power that home equipment can use. The vehicle and home system will communicate to manage power.
How much will the Fathom home-backup equipment cost?
Ford has not announced a final price. It says the new compatible bidirectional charger will cost about half the $1,300 Charge Station Pro, and that the charger-plus-home-panel package will cost 60% less than the $5,200 Lightning package. Installation is excluded.
Will the Fathom power a home during an outage?
Ford says customers will need a home backup power panel in addition to the compatible charger to back up their homes during grid outages. The source report does not state how much power the truck can provide or for how long.
Will other Ford EVs have this capability?
Ford’s Dave McCreadie said other vehicles built on the company’s Universal EV Platform will also support AC bidirectional charging. The source report does not list specific models or their release dates.
Can owners use the system anywhere in the United States?
Not necessarily. Utility rules for AC bidirectional charging vary, and Ford says it is working with utilities on common interconnection standards. Requirements and availability may depend on the customer’s location.
Source: canarymedia.com
